EKFH Board takes up Director’s Cookie Challenge

Submitted by EKFH on 18-09-2013

Cranbrook, BC…. The delivery may be a week later than anticipated but on September 23 the arrival of yummy chocolate chip cookies to start the 2013 Tim Hortons Smile Face Cookie Campaign is something the board members of East Kootenay Foundation for Health are anxious for.

This year its Executive Director, Donna Grainger put out a challenge to the EKFH Board to purchase a case (144 cookies) of either frozen or baked cookies and in turn to donate their case to other worthy charities or causes in the community.

The EKFH Board, combined with some help from a couple of other supporters, did not disappoint as pre-orders of 12 cases plus a few loose ones (1,753 cookies in total) are being personally delivered during Cookie Week to these deserving groups:

• Associates Medical Clinic & Lab
• Cranbrook Boys & Girls Club
• Cranbrook Food Bank
• Cranbrook Kimberley Hospice Society
• Cranbrook Society for Community Living
• Dr F W Green Home
• Dr F W Green Medical Clinic & Lab
• East Kootenay Regional Hospital 2nd & 3rd Floor Nursing Stations
• East Kootenay Regional Hospital ICU and ER
• East Kootenay Regional Hospital Lab
• East Kootenay Regional Hospital Psychiatry Unit
• SPCA (Cranbrook)
• Street Angels

Case orders (EKFH will deliver on your behalf) are still available by calling Donna at 489-6481. Fresh cookies sold individually or by the dozen/s are available next week at both Tim Hortons’ Cranbrook outlets and in the regional hospital lobby from members of the Cranbrook Health Care Auxiliary.

Proceeds from this year’s cookie sales are going to purchase two phlebotomy chairs for the hospitals Ambulatory Care department and a broda chair for the 3rd floor.

Tim Hortons, EKFH and the CHCA a winning combination of smile cookies and dedication to health care in the community. The campaign runs September 23-27.

Photo details: Members of the EKFH Board of Directors share their smiles knowing their personal donations of cases of Tim Hortons Smile Cookies are going to others in the community.

L-R: Chair Brian Clifford, Don MacMillan, Sheilah Moore, Colin Sinclair, Wes Rogers, Sam Cowan & Mike Calder (missing from photo: Mark Dickson & Russ Colombo).